Posted in Uncategorized

Rescues are my favorite breed: Quick tips on how to rescue your perfect rescue!

(Photo above from Pexels.com)

 

If your one of those lucky owners who decided to rescue a dog, look no further then here. I’m happy to share some of my own personal experiences with my rescue, as well as some other helpful hints and suggestions of others.

 

If someone were to tell me that rescuing a dog was going to be easy, they were sadly mistaken. It can be very challenging, but it is very rewarding, as well. Here are some helpful hints to consider when rescuing a dog

 

  • Mistaken Identity: There are many dogs that are put into these shelters who have suffered a bad past. Though, we may never know truly what they went through, we do know that dogs are very forgiving and offer second, third, and fourth chances to their caregivers. Sometimes we also find dogs to be labeled incorrectly at these facilities. This video says it all. Tip #1: Be open minded and do your research on the animal. Set up visits so you can go and interact with the dog you plan to adopt. Do not always “judge a book by its cover.”

 

img_3712
Personal Photo of our rescue, Shadow!

 

  • Be Comfortable and Ask Questions: This was a big one for my own personal experience. I was interesting in rescuing a dog. This “ideal” dog had to be kid- friendly for my seven year old. This is a pretty essential quality I needed my dog to possess, but I was determined. I was told on numerous occasions to get a puppy or stray away from the “Pit Bull” breed, but I did not listen. Instead, I did my research and met with many volunteers at countless shelters. I ended up getting in contact with a volunteer at the Newark Human Society, over two hours from where I live. The volunteer was amazing. She sent me numerous videos of the dog and was willing to go above and beyond to help answer any uncertainties I possessed. She made me feel comfortable. Sure enough, we drove the few hour journey and the dog was everything she said and more. I’ll share the tip with you this volunteer shared with me. Tip #2: Be sure to be comfortable with the person you at getting the dog from and ask everything you can think of and more. After all, this dog needs to fit with your family and lifestyle. (Q&A to follow next week with this volunteer).

 

  • Patience: Patience is sometimes the most difficult but most needed quality to possess when rescuing a dog. This dog entering “your” world has yet to experience the world you are placing him and/or her in. They do not know your expectations and/or rules you have in mind for them. You need to allow the rescue time to adjust and get comfortable. You should refrain from taking the dog out and about and resist the temptation to “show off” the new member of your family. Allow some quiet time and start with small trips and gradually increase the amount of time you leave your pet for. Crate training is usually recommended, but varies person to person and what your ideal situation is for your pet. Tip #3: All good things come with time.

 

  • Obedience Training: Be prepared to get your rescue some obedience training. There are some really great trainers and one who I would personally recommend, Above and Beyond Dog Training. After all, the basic don’t jump on the table, don’t pee on the floor, or drop your toy may not be so familiar to your rescue. They may requite some brushing up on certain skills. But, it is a great way to bond with your dog and truly make your family a whole. Tip #4: Do not assume your rescue knows your expectations and/or rules. Be sure to get some training if your dog seems to lack a few desired rules.

 

 

At the end of the day, just know, that everything you put into your dog will be rewarded back to you through their endless love and affection they be still on you everyday. Keep these tips in mind when you are planning to rescue a dog.

 

Did you know: According to Statistic Brain in 2016, five million animals entered animal shelters nationwide annually. Out of the five million animals, 3.5 million are euthanized at shelters.

** Please, lets lower these numbers and make more apart of our families.

 

One thought on “Rescues are my favorite breed: Quick tips on how to rescue your perfect rescue!

Leave a Reply

